Hermann-Grima House

Explore the Hermann-Grima House on your own with this virtual tour!

Google tour created by JStephenYoung.com

Built in 1831 by a German Jewish immigrant, Samuel Hermann, the Hermann-Grima House is one of the most significant residences in New Orleans. The early decades of the 1800s were considered the Golden Age of our city—an era of wealth, prosperity, and lavish lifestyles, which drew people from all over the world with dreams and goals of financial opportunity and success in a sophisticated and cosmopolitan city. The Hermann family flourished during this Golden Age. However, after an economic downturn, the Hermanns declared bankruptcy and were forced to sell their property.

In 1844 the prominent lawyer and notary Felix Grima acquired the estate. He and his wife Adelaide Montegut, along with their nine children and several extended family members, resided on the property. Other than the years that the Grimas spent in exile during the Civil War, the family made their home here on St. Louis Street until 1921, when the last remaining Grima son moved to another part of the city.

In 1924 the property was purchased by The Christian Woman’s Exchange to be used as a rooming house for women. The property also included a consignment shop and a tea room. The Woman’s Exchange later restored the property to its original 19th-century grandeur and opened to the public in 1971 as a historic house museum.

Visitors will step back in time and learn about local architecture, the Golden Age of New Orleans, the people who lived and worked on the property, and the women who worked to maintain it. Painstakingly restored to its original splendor through archaeological studies and a careful review of the building contracts and inventories, the museum property accurately depicts the gracious lifestyle of prosperous Creole families in 19th -century New Orleans.